• John R Cowton

Forged in Flames by David Beckler


The Blurb

Introduction to a nail-biting new thriller series which will have you on the edge of your seat! Perfect for fans of Lee Child, J. B. Turner, Mark Dawson and David Baldacci.

Manchester, England 1996 Ex-Royal Marine and Firefighter, Adam Sterling, rescues Kim from an inferno. She reminds him of someone in his past. Kim is being targeted by a violent arsonist, but why? She’s in witness protection, but even Eddy Arkwright, the policeman investigating her attack, can’t find out why. Adam feels compelled to help her, but can he keep her out of the clutches of the people hunting her? He has to use all his abilities as a firefighter plus some older skills as he fights to survive and save Kim.​

Click on the book cover image to purchace

About David Beckler

I spent my first eight years living on an agricultural college in rural Ethiopia, where my love of reading developed. After dropping out of university I became a firefighter and later a businessman. I began writing in 2010, working on my first novel in my spare time, a crime thriller called Brotherhood. I like writing about protagonists with a strong moral code who don't fit in with conventional society. I also enjoy writing about baddies and how they arrived at their fallen state. When not writing I try to keep fit, socialise and feed my voracious book habit.

My Review

Having read book #1 of the Mason & Sterling Thrillers series entitled Brotherhood, I thought it would be a good idea to read the novella prequel book #0.5 Forged in Flames which I read in one morning. Novella it maybe, but there was more action in those ninety-one pages than I've seen in some complete boxed sets on Netflix! When Adam Sterling rescues a woman from her burning home, it seems it had been a deliberate attempt on her life. Sterling believes she must be subject to the witness protection program, but the police are unwilling to confirm this. Another attempt is made on her life, and Sterling gets involved. Couldn't put this down and would highly recommend this as a 'starter' course before you get onto the main meal of the Mason & Sterling Thrillers series. However, there is a second starter 'The Money Trap' which focuses on Byron Sterling to read before I progress with the series. Watch this space.​


12 views

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com