© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

Murder At The Book Club by Betsy Reavley

August 18, 2018

 

The Blurb

 

"A deliciously Agatha Christie-style mystery that sucks you in from the first page." Sibel Hodge bestselling author of Look Behind You

“A good old Whodunnit from Ms Reavley that will keep readers guessing till the very end!” J.A. Baker Bestselling author of The Other Mother

Imagine nine women meeting. Tea and cake are on the coffee table. They’ve come together to share their love of books. They are friends. They trust each other. It’s a happy gathering. What could be more harmless?

Then scratch the surface and look closer.

One is lonely. One is desperate and one of them is a killer.

When the body of a woman is discovered on a Cambridge common, DCI Barrett and DI Palmer are called in to investigate. But the motive behind the crime isn’t clear… And it all leads back to a book club.

As the lies, volatile friendships and tension among the group rise to the surface, DCI Barrett and DI Palmer must work out the motive and track down a cold-blooded killer. But just when they think they are on the right track, a twist in the case throws them off course…

Betsy Reavley is the best-selling author of multiple thrillers including The Opticians Wife, The Quiet Ones and Frailty. Murder at the Book Club is an unmissable new whodunnit which will appeal to fans of authors like Cara Hunter, Rachel Abbott, Faith Martin and LJ Ross. 

 

About Betsy Reavley

 

Betsy Freeman Reavley is the author of Beneath the Watery Moon and A Worm in the Bottle. Carrion, her latest psychological thriller will be released in November 2014.
She was born in Hammersmith, London. 
As a child she moved around frequently with her family, spending time in London, Provence, Tuscany, Gloucestershire and Cambridgeshire. 
She showed a flair for literature and writing from a young age and had a particular interest in poetry, of which she was a prolific consumer and producer. 
In her early twenties she moved to Oxford, where she would eventually meet her husband. During her time in Oxford her interests turned from poetry to novels and she began to develop her own unique style of psychological thriller. 
Beneath the Watery Moon is Betsy Reavley’s beautifully written first release and tells the macabre story of a young woman battling against mental illness. 
Beneath the Watery Moon is published by Not So Noble Books and is available as an eBook from Amazon. 
Betsy Reavley's second novel Carrion is a psychological chiller that address the link between grief and mental illness. 
Reavley says "I think people are at their most fascinating when they are faced with life's real horrors." This is what I love to write about. 
Betsy Reavley currently lives in North London, with her husband 2 children, dog, cat and chickens. You can follow her on Twitter @BetsyReavley

 

My Review

 

This was a departure from Betsy Reavley's normal psychological thriller style such as in Optician's Wife, Carrion, and Frailty to name but a few. No this was a step into the world of whodunnit, Agatha Christie style. Set in a place that's familiar to me, Cambridge, it's about a bunch of women who formed a book club. They shared a common interest in reading, clearly, but there was very little else that bonded them together. When one of them is found dead a murder investigation starts, and each one of the ladies becomes a suspect. As there was no love lost between them, there appears to be plenty of motives bouncing between the murder investigation team to keep everybody speculating.
I liked it because it had me guessing right up until the end. There was some interesting police procedural stuff going on too in keeping with today's enlightened and discerning crime-fiction readers. 

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Elephant Song by Wilbur Smith

October 30, 2019

1/10
Please reload

Recent Posts

October 16, 2019

October 16, 2019