The Profit Motive by David Beckler


The Blurb:

Mason & Sterling are back in a hard-boiled international thriller! Perfect for fans of Mark Dawson, J. B. Turner, Lee Child and David Baldacci… How do you deal with an implacable foe in an alien land…?

Manchester, England, and Wenzhou, China, 2001

When firefighter Adam Sterling arrives at the scene of a horrific car crash, little does he imagine it will lead him back to his mother’s homeland. Kate, the woman he pulls from the wreckage, needs his help. Her father has been left for dead after a hit-and-run, in Wenzhou, China. She suspects it wasn’t an accident and so does Jie Gang, the senior policeman investigating the case, and whose efforts are obstructed from on high. When events escalate, Kate employs Adam and Byron Mason, Adam’s best friend and fellow former Royal Marine, to go with her to China. Catapulted into an alien environment, and unable to trust anyone, Mason and Sterling face escalating challenges. The struggle becomes personal, and Adam has to confront a ruthless enemy determined to destroy him and Kate. THE PROFIT MOTIVE is the second crime novel in the Mason & Sterling thriller series: gritty, hard-boiled page-turners with an urban setting.

About David Beckler:

I spent my first eight years living on an agricultural college in rural Ethiopia, where my love of reading developed. After dropping out of university I became a firefighter and later a businessman. I began writing in 2010, working on my first novel in my spare time, a crime thriller called Brotherhood. I like writing about protagonists with a strong moral code who don't fit in with conventional society. I also enjoy writing about baddies and how they arrived at their fallen state. When not writing I try to keep fit, socialise and feed my voracious book habit. My website has more details. www.davidbeckler.co.uk Sign up to my mailing list for news and offers.

My Review:

The second book in the Sterling and Mason series did not in anyway disappoint, but having read book one, 'Brotherhood,' I anticipated an action-packed exciting read. The story is set in Manchester, London and Wenzhou in China. Sterling and Mason, although they are extraordinary people, with their Royal Marines background, their vulnerability shows through making their characters believable and therefore more engaging to the reader. I think the Profit Motive would lend itself well to the silver screen, because as I was reading it, there certainly was a great movie playing in my head.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts