Convictions by Caro Land


The Blurb:

Returning home to care for her ill mother, and approaching her fortieth birthday, Natalie Bach is devastated when she’s dumped without explanation by her long-term boyfriend.

Struggling to pick herself up, she’s offered her old job at Goldman Law. Jack Goldman’s estranged son Julian has been arrested for attempted murder and he wants Natalie to find out why.

With the help of fellow solicitor Gavin Savage, Natalie sets out to investigate, but with a series of red herrings ahead, will she ever discover the truth?

And can Natalie avoid her personal problems interfering with the case?

Convictions is the first book in a gripping new legal, crime suspense series written by bestselling author Caroline England, writing as Caro Land. It will appeal to fans of authors like Diane Jeffrey, Samantha Hayes and K.L. Slater.

“A brilliantly crafted novel. I was totally engrossed in the characters and plot from start to finish. I couldn’t put it down.” - Amanda Robson, Sunday Times bestselling author of Obsession, Guilt and Envy

About Caro Land (Caroline England):

Born in Sheffield, Caroline studied Law at the University of Manchester and stayed over the border. Caroline was a divorce and professional indemnity lawyer. She turned to writing when she deserted the law to bring up her three lovely daughters. Caroline has had short stories and poems published in a variety of literary publications and anthologies. Caroline writes domestic psychological thrillers. Her debut novel, BENEATH THE SKIN, known also as THE WIFE'S SECRET in eBook, was published by Avon HarperCollins in October 2017. Her second novel, MY HUSBAND'S LIES, followed in May 2018 and became a Kindle top ten bestseller. Her latest novel, BETRAY HER, published by Piatkus of Little, Brown Book Group, is now available as an eBook, audiobook and paperback. Caroline has two dark, twisty short story collections available on Amazon, both in eBook and paperback, WATCHING HORSEPATS FEED THE ROSES and HANGED BY THE NECK. Caroline also writes under the pen name Caro Land. Her first Natalie Bach legal suspense, CONVICTIONS, will be published by Bloodhound Books in January 2020. The follow up, CONFESSIONS, will publish in June 2020.

My Review:

Convictions by Caro Land is the first in the Natalie Bach series, which accords the reader with a fly-on-the-wall insight into the ins and outs of a solicitor's office as a workplace, with all of it's politics, hierarchy, gossip and complex interpersonal relationships. With this legal backdrop, Natalie returns to Goldman Law as a solicitor, after a five-year absence, to discover that her job was nothing like it used to be, and struggles to re-establish herself into her former role. She quickly becomes overloaded with enough work to make her head explode, which is closely associated with the partners, that involves secrets and lies and lots of baggage at a time when she was having enough difficulty processing the baggage she had accumulated over the previous five years. This alluring story and the back-stories were totally absorbing, leaving our heroine with difficult decisions to make both in her professional and private life. Look out for Gavin Savage, of Savage Solicitors, my favourite character in the book, and the banter between him and Natalie was incalculable. I'm looking forward to the next instalment of the Natalie Bach series which is hopefully released later this year.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts