top of page

Confronting The Hostile: Book Four of The Hostile series by Joy Mutter

The Blurb:

A retired Irish superintendent and his former colleague, a handsome DCI from Liverpool, attempt to rid themselves and the world of their lethal tile masters. Will they succeed in reclaiming their freedom, or will the bizarre killing games continue? Set in Manchester, Liverpool, and Ireland. Confronting The Hostile is book 4 in The Hostile series of unusual paranormal crime thrillers.

About Joy Mutter:

Joy Mutter was born in Jersey in the Channel Islands and lived there for eighteen years. She moved to Kent and worked as a professional graphic designer for over twenty years. Joy moved to Oldham in 2012 where she's been writing, designing, and publishing her books full-time ever since. Although she's been writing books since 2007, Joy waited until 2015 to publish six of them on Amazon. Four more books followed in 2016, two in 2017, and one in 2018. All thirteen are now available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle editions. Nine are also available as audiobooks on Audible, iTunes, and Amazon. Her first three books are mainly autobiographical and form The Mug Trilogy. Books in this series are A Slice of the Seventies, The Lying Scotsman, and Straws. Potholes and Magic Carpets is a contemporary novel. Living with Postcards is the author's first non-fiction book. Random Bullets is a paranormal crime thriller. Her demonic Angel and other short stories was published in 2016, along with The Hostile, and Holiday for The Hostile. The Hostile Game, and Confronting The Hostile were published in 2017. The Hostile Series Box Set contains all four books in The Hostile series of paranormal crime thrillers. There is an audiobook version of each book in the Hostile series. In 2018, Joy published The Trouble With Liam, a psychological crime thriller, and is now working on two other thrillers.

My Review:

This is the last of the Hostile series which has a stupendously monstrous conclusion. I'm not going to go into detail about the plot because it could be a spoiler for the earlier books. Having bought the books individually, I'm going to recommend that readers purchase the box set, because after reading the first book you will be wanting more. What was special for me about the series was that each book is not more of the same, the story steps up to new horrors beyond the realms of nightmares. However, there is a lot of humour in this book, and the ghosts interactions with each other are dead funny (excuse the pun). I can't think of any book that I could compare this to which makes it unique, and as an avid reader, uniqueness is what I crave. I have a long to be read list ahead of me, but I'll certainly be adding author Joy Mutter somewhere near the top of that list. Joy by name and a joy to read.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page