Sleep by C.L. Taylor

August 20, 2020

 

The Blurb:

Seven guests. Seven secrets. One killer. Do you dare to SLEEP?

‘Beware! Sleep does not do what it says on the tin: I was awake until the small hours under its dark and twisty spell.’ FIONA BARTON

All Anna wants is to be able to sleep. But crushing insomnia, terrifying night terrors and memories of that terrible night are making it impossible. If only she didn’t feel so guilty…

To escape her past, Anna takes a job at a hotel on the remote Scottish island of Rum, but when seven guests join her, what started as a retreat from the world turns into a deadly nightmare.

Each of the guests have a secret, but one of them is lying – about who they are and why they're on the island. There's a murderer staying in the Bay View hotel. And they've set their sights on Anna.

Seven strangers. Seven secrets. One deadly lie.

The million-copy bestseller is back in her darkest, twistiest book to date. Read it if you dare! Perfect for fans of Lesley Kara’s The Rumour and Cara Hunter’s DI Fawley Thrillers.

What people are saying about SLEEP:

‘Wow just wow!… I loved it’ Karen’s World

‘WOW!… Sleep!!! You wont get any if you start to read it in the evening! So be warned!!!’ Reader review

‘Superb… her books just keep getting better and better – this one was a belter!!’ Donna’s Book Blog

‘A cracking story… A heart in your mouth plot’ Books from Dusk ‘til Dawn

‘Extremely creepy, atmospheric and twisty.’ CLAIRE DOUGLAS, author of Do Not Disturb

‘Sleep will keep you up all night.’ MARK EDWARDS, author of The Retreat

‘As always, C L Taylor knocks it out of the park!’ Reader review

“Reminiscent of Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None… a final killer twist that is as satisfying as it is unexpected” Mature Times

“Everything we love in a thriller: creepy, tense and pacy enough to get your heart racing” Good Housekeeping

‘A perfectly written psychological thriller… filled with plot twist after plot twist… I was on the edge of my seat for every page.’ 2016 and Beyond

 

About C.L.Taylor:

 

C.L. Taylor is an award winning Sunday Times bestselling author of seven gripping

 

psychological thrillers including SLEEP, a Richard and Judy Book Club pick for autumn 2019. Her books are not a series and can be read in any order:

2014 - THE ACCIDENT
2015 - THE LIE
2016 - THE MISSING
2017 - THE ESCAPE
2018 - THE FEAR
2019 - SLEEP
2020 - STRANGERS
2021 - HER LAST HOLIDAY

She has also written two Young Adult thrillers, THE TREATMENT and THE ISLAND, which will be published in January 2021.

C.L. Taylor's books have sold in excess of a million copies, been number one on Amazon Kindle, Kobo, iBooks and Google Play and have been translated into over 25 languages and optioned for TV. 

Cally Taylor was born in Worcester and spent her early years living in various army camps in the UK and Germany. She studied Psychology at the University of Northumbria and went on forge a career in instructional design and e-Learning before leaving to write full time in 2014. She lives in Bristol with her partner and son.

Sign up to join the CL Taylor Book Club for access to news, updates and information that isn't available on the web, as well as exclusive newsletter-only competitions and giveaways and the books that CL Taylor thinks will be the next big thing. You will also receive THE LODGER for free when you join:

cltaylorauthor.com/newsletter


www.cltaylorauthor.com
www.twitter.com/callytaylor
www.Instagram.com/cltaylorauthor
www.facebook.com/callytaylorauthor

 

My Review:

 

A lorry driver fell asleep at the wheel and veered into the car that Anna was driving, killing two of her colleagues and causing major spinal injuries to another. Anna struggled to live with the guilt that she had allowed herself to be momentarily distracted which stopped her from taking preventative measures to avoid collision with the out of control lorry.
She believes that at least one of the victims family members blames her, and after separation from her boyfriend, feeling unsafe, and struggling to live with the guilt, she decides a new start on the remote island of Rum, in the Inner Hebrides, working in a hotel is what she needs to do.
Guilt and insomnia follow her up to this small island cut off from the mainland due to a big storm, and adverse events transpire that show that she was right to feel paranoid. There are seven guests at the hotel, and she suspects that one of them at least, is out to get her.
This story gave me a huge amount of creeps because Anna has been placed in a situation where she could not escape due to the remoteness of the island that is cut off by a storm.
A gripping thriller with a surprising end.

 

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Lost Hours by Alex Walters

September 22, 2020

1/10
Please reload

Recent Posts

September 22, 2020

September 20, 2020

September 14, 2020

August 20, 2020

Please reload

Archive
Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon